NaPoWriMo 2016 #27

images

Believer in Signs

Upon rising in the morning, the dreary window pellets of  Dawn’s still falling rain clinging to the frigid glass, I glanced out upon the lake, as is my custom … Across the mid distant clay completion of it’s surface, beyond the brushy bank, now green with grasses below the leafing river birch on their high banking perch … I took in, having waded out a good measure perhaps as much as a horse is long, the starkest white crane I have seen since my early childhood … When I was small we could encounter the Whooping Cranes often, wading in the salt flats near the tiny village where I was born … Yet, this ghostly apparent wandering light seemed no ordinary Blue Heron I have spied before and most certainly not in the drear of a rain … My eyes seemed spellbound to the creature. lost in it’s magnificence for moments which I cannot make my self accountable for to wakefulness … It examined the bank where the geese have chosen to make their nest this year, a great intensity caught it up on the bank, yet, venturing out of the water it did not … Raising it’s neck to what must have been the full extension of it’s body, carelessly like an innocent child stretching after sleep … It seemed to make invisible contact with an answerable entity … Gaining the solution sought it stepped lively around the nearest lobe of the bend of hazel brush and was gone from my sight all at once  …  After dressing, I returned to the window in search of it’s beauty once more, to find it perching in one of the Great Cypress leading up to the meadow and forest beyond … I come from a long line of poets and the like, for myself,  there was an unspoken message in this spiritual totem, this rare sighting of the Great White Egret …

© 2016 cdd All right Reserved

Photo Credit: Budd Titlow

http://blogs.tallahassee.com/community/2014/03/23/great-egrets-conservation-icons/

Leave a Reply

