#NaPoWriMo 24

You pass through my body in moments of which I feel need … the sheet of your shadow creasing into my bones … as is you are in this very room … motioning the air about in rub tickle tones of molecular slow and salty tangos … the way someone might on a train caught in the sliver shot of a fall rush … people pass hiding they felt a spark … hand brushing the back, a wool coat … that back leaning into a woman’s breast, grazing her into a soft silence … I look up from my work searching the room for your coffee brown eyes … seeking some spark of synaptic contact we wove in voice overs on the phone when winter was brutal … shut in and shouting out for some humanity to hear and claim us … If I can’t have your hands I’d settle for your eyes on me  … in resting moments I lay the blanket of your Self upon me … tucking your head under my chin, your arms encompassing me … I listen to the changing rhythms of my heartbeat and I sleep … you whisper there will be cooked beans when I awaken and leave the kindest parts of you behind to keep me warm … my eyes close as you leave the room… the door cracked only a little bit … You pass through me at times …

#NaPoWriMo 24

  © 2015 Carla Dawn Dunlap All Right Reserved
Leave a Reply

