#NaPoWriMo 22 Your Redemption

Your Redemption

An Utterance of Closure

I had been to the trees since the break of day … the mocking jay had come in a fit filled mid morning of my dreams … to announce red ribbons had been tied to the thorns of the council trees at the bend of the river … he had foretold such and thus I knew it to be true … clear through to my spine … with my scythe in hand, half empty of fear and half filled with the love I would need to carry you with me … I rose and set out into the bitter morning just as the initial flaming splinter broke the horizon … I spoke to Dawn’s silence for us both … my mossy eyes falling on the cardinal flags as I breached the cresting hills … A heart too broken to feel the thorns …  I disrobed and adorned my body with only your bright banners … wading out into the icy waters … searching for any cause to offer homage … I invited the roaring current to carry your redemption home …

#NaPoWriMo 22

  © 2015 Carla Dawn Dunlap All Right Reserved
3 thoughts on “#NaPoWriMo 22 Your Redemption

Leave a Reply

