#NaPoWriMo 18

My Day 18 … I apologize for not keeping all of you good people read. I will catch up as soon as I can. My Grandma Hayes used to say, “When the leaves on the oak trees are as big as a mouses’ ear, then you can take your leaves away from the plants and cinder blocks of the house. Before that and you’ll kill all your lady bugs.” She was so wise about these things. She grew a yard full of flowers that people from all around came to buy.

My folks grew up close in location, around Poplar Bluff, Missouri. I am thinking of Grandma, my mother’s Mother today because my father is burying his brother Earl today.  Earl used to go over to grandma’s and help with all sort of things. He’d help Grandpa put up firewood from a tree they took down. Fix anything they might need. Stop in and check on them or just stop by for a visit.

The days of people being so close is gone. The world is so scattered and it seems we are all strangers to each other in many ways. I treasure my memories of uncle earl and how he used to tickle us silly, bring us cold watermelons and teach us how to spit a mouth full of seeds, let us ride in the pig feed out to the back woods to feed the pigs so long ago. Grandma Dunlap still had chickens then and my those eggs were amazingly good on a cold morning.

He was a funny man and told the silliest jokes. Always said ,”You’all come back real soon and see us ok?” and he meant it. He will be missed and remembered as one of the kindest people I ever had the good fortune of meeting let alone having as my uncle.

Leave a Reply

