If Not for Technology #NaPoWriMo 10

It was in a dream somewhere I saw your face … “like an ad in the old fashioned news”, you’d say … I watched you and read the posts on your page … saw the pictures from your life … listened to the tunes you would post … I learned about what you did as a trade … where you live, even saw the food that you ate … One day I got bold and reposted a poem … some whirling and twirling round something someone wrote … truth is I forget the words or even the rhyme … I just knew I couldn’t waste any more time … my heart was reaching inside of your walls, down the corridors, and hanging out in the halls … I knocked on the door and when you opened it wide … I fumbled and lost it and I dropped my pride … I broke down and  choked up, yeah I spilled all the beans … confessed and addressed and oh hell, I made a mess of everything … too many phone conversations … too many late nights burnt out … so many things mistaken … now we will never sort it out … had our eyes met … or we ever held hands … had a simple good night kiss … happened unplanned … but things aren’t done that way anymore … there’s no old fashioned love in store … for dreamers like me who are caught in the belief … if not for technology … we might have been … Mail Order Annie and her Handsome Dan.

 #NaPoWriMo 10

© 2015 Carla Dawn Dunlap All Right Reserved

Leave a Reply

